“Awesome Sh*t My Drill Sergeant Said – Wit and Wisdom from America’s Finest” by Dan Caddy. The publisher is Dey Street Books/William Morrow.

Review by Pete Moore

I loved the hell out of this book. And I laughed and laughed.

This is a compilation of some of the orders that drill instructors and drill sergeants have screamed at military recruits. The idea is that fear to produces obedience.

Some of the orders I heard when I was a teen-ager in boot camp at the Marine Corps Recruit Depot in San Diego, Calif.

The orders that author Dan Caddy lists in the book give the reader a good idea of what the orders were like in boot camp.

There are some that I particularly like. I still remember them from my days in the Corps.

Like this one, “Y’all need to clean these barracks, (insert two swear words). Smells like a goat in an overcoat.”

Or this one, “Look at me again and I’ll set you on fire and put you out with a fork.”

Some of the orders don’t make sense. It is just the drill instructor’s way of scaring you.

A one-liner that doesn’t make sense, but is pretty funny, is this, “We’re going to be here every hour on the hour for an hour.”

Huh? More than likely the drill instructor who said that would stare at you and ask if you had any questions. If you do, ask them.

That’s what I got out of that one.

I can remember on the first day I got out of the recruit barracks, which was a quonset hut. I heard this from my staff sergeant while we were standing in formation: “I am  the f-ing Alpha and f-ing Omega of your f-ing life for the f-ing next 10 weeks and one f-ing day, private.”

F-bombs rained down on us all the time.  For emphasis. Point well taken, Sir!

Dan Caddy lives in Vermont and continues to serve in the military. He is a former marketing professional and the founder of the Awesome Sh*t My Drill Sergeant Said Facebook page. Many of the phrases in the book he borrowed from contributions to that Facebook page.

Caddy is also president and founder of Battle in Distress Inc., a nonprofit devoted to helping service members in crisis.

Pete Moore, an Albuquerque resident, served as a heavy equipment operator and a rifleman in the Marine Corps in the 1960s, including about 15 months in Vietnam.

