By David Steinberg

One friend asked me what authors I like to read. Another asked me to advise him on titles he’s missed out on but that I’ve enjoyed reading. We’re not just talking newly released books.

Here’s what I’ve come up with. Both are short lists, so they don’t include many other authors I’ve been reading.

These are the books I gave to Rick Edwards, an Albuquerque polyglot:

–“The Gods of Guilt” by Michael Connelly

–“The Shape Shifter” by Tony Hillerman

–“61 Hours” by Lee Child

— “Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club” by Benjamin Alire Saenz

–“The Pale Horsemen” by Bernard  Cornwell

–“The History of Love” by Nicole Krauss

–“Prince of Fire” by Daniel Silva

–“The Girl Who Played with Fire” by Stieg Larsson

–“The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak

–“Rough Country” by John Sandford

–“Arab and Jew” by David K. Shipler

–“The Dain Curse” by Dashiell Hammett

–“The Crime of Writing” by Haim Lapid

These are the titles I gave to David Ostrovitz, an Albuquerque string player.

–“The Crossing” by Cormac McCarthy

–“Silken Prey” by John Sandford

–“Judas Judge” by Michael McGarrity

–“Last Coyote” by Michael Connelly

–“A Thief of Time” by Tony Hillerman

–“Beloved” by Toni Morrison

–“Cat’s Cradle” by Kurt Vonnegut

–“Have a Little Faith” by Mitch Albom

–“The Shaman’s Game” by James Doss

–“One Shot” by Lee Child

–“The Watchman” by Robert Crais

“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” by Stieg Larsson

–“Kill Shot” by Vince Flynn

